Ianjamesmcadam’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The page leers at me…

Posted by Ian McAdam on June 14, 2009

My cross is borne

on slight shoulders

my rectitude forms

dung beetle boulders.

 

In this recycle

shadows at noon

I push down and cycle

the city, my cocoon.

 

My African snakebite

my familial in-fight

my magical starlight

my aversion is my blight.

 

I stand here

with lost fear

and strength

in my Samson locks

free flow strewth

must rhyme like

in books

and poets who were

real, like

i dream to be.

2 Responses to “The page leers at me…”

  1. oh Ian, this is powerfully written.
    These lines especially struck me:
    “My African snakebite

    my familial in-fight

    my magical starlight

    my aversion is my blight.”

    stunning.

    • Ian McAdam said

      Liza, your art is so much stronger than my words, but still I so very much appreciate the fact that you’ve taken the time to read my stuff. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
